Lingwood Lane, Woodborough, Nottinghamshire, NG14 6DX

01159 652136




My name is Kathryn Watson and I am your Chair of Governors. I have lived in Woodborough for 17 years and am involved in many of the opportunities this wonderful village has to offer. I am a member of St. Swithun's church and have been a governor here since 2008 and Chair since 2012.

I am a retired Headteacher who taught much of her career in a church school in Mansfield. Because of this background I feel I can very much appreciate the significance of the Christian ethos as well as the complex environment that defines a school.

As a Foundation Governor, I feel privileged to be part of the life of Woods Foundation School. I have three granddaughters and in my spare time I enjoy reading, meeting my friends, walking and being outdoors.

Sharon Johnson joined the governing body in October 2020 as Local Authority governor. 

She is business manager at a primary school in Nottinghamshire. 

I am a retired teacher with experience across all Key Stages, specialising in Music and Religious Studies.

I live in Epperstone and am an active member of the school’s link church, St Swithun’s Woodborough.  Also I enjoy being involved in local community activities. I have been a Governor since 2011 and support the Christian ethos of the school. 

I have been a Diocesan Governor here since 2017, having previously served as a governor on several schools over 25 years. I am a retired teacher and have worked latterly in year 5. I belong to St John’s Church in Mansfield where I live,  however l take part in several activities in Woodborough.  I enjoy walking, travel  and photography.

I have been a foundation governor at WWFS for over 20 years. My children started at the school in 1994 when we moved to the village and I started the Parents group a couple of years later to help support the school finances. I have been involved with the school ever since and I Chair Admissions Appeals Panels for The Diocese. I am an optometrist by profession and enjoy all sporting activities.

I have been a parent governor at Woodborough Woods since 2017. Originally from Birmingham, I graduated from university in Nottingham over 20yrs ago! As a qualified accountant, I have worked in several businesses in the East Midlands, and currently head up a commercial finance team in the retail sector. I live in the village and currently have two children at the school. 

I have enjoyed the challenge of being a Governor at Woods since 2014.  I work in the Property and Construction industry with strong financial, PR & Marketing skills.  I have recently completed an Executive MBA part time at Nottingham Trent University.

I am a parent to two football crazy boys, one of which is still at Woods.  

I enjoy family time, running, snowboarding and golf.

Shaun Hopwell (Head Teacher)

Peter Asplin (Deputy Head)

Sam Sycamore (Business Manager)

I have recently joined the school Governing Body and look forward to contributing my skills for the benefit of the school community. I have a background in lndustrial management and have extensive experience in the voluntary and public service sectors. My driving ethos is to do the best I can to give children the skills and opportunities for their.

My family are the most important thing to me and I like to read, travel and visit art galleries.

Linda Foster (SDBOE)

I am a recently appointed Foundation Governor and I am looking forward to using my skills and experience to support the school community. I am a retired Education Improvement Adviser, with experience across all phases of education and prior to that was the Headteacher of a Church of England school. I am a governor at St Giles School in Retford and at St Mary’s C of E Primary School in Edwinstowe. I attend St Mary’s Church, where I have led one of the Youth groups for many years and I enjoy walking, travel and reading.


From 12 October 2021

Coming soon....

Minutes of Meetings

 2020 Spring - Display.pdfDownload
 2020.05.12 Summer - Display.pdfDownload
 2020.05.27 Special - Display.pdfDownload
 2020.09.01 Special - Display.pdfDownload
 2020.9.29 Autumn Minutes - Approved (SD).pdfDownload
Showing 1-5 of 5

Governor Documentation

 Evidence of governing body impact on school October 2020.pdfDownload
 Governors Financial Statement 2019-20.pdfDownload
 Schools financial benchmarking.pdfDownload
Showing 1-4 of 4